Harnett County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


Newton County Court is divided into the following main divisions: Criminal Court, Civil Court, and Small Claims Court. North Carolina state is divided into 64 Superior Court districts with 105 Superior Court judges who preside over 280,000 cases each year. The Civil Court usually handles cases involving family issues such as divorce or child custody, or disputes over contracts or personal injury claims. More than 400 criminal laws are applied at the state of North Carolina. The most serious cases, often result in a prison sentence of at least one year or more, are felonies and they are usually heard in Superior Court.

The Small claims court is part of the District Court Division. It handles civil cases where a plaintiff requests assignment to a magistrate and the amount in controversy is $5,000 or less. The principal relief sought in small claims court is money, the recovery of specific personal property, or summary eviction.

If the case involves a controversy exceeding $10,000 the Superior Court is the proper division for the trial. It is also the proper division, without regard to the amount in controversy, for certain special proceedings, condemnation actions and proceedings, corporate receiverships, review of decisions of administrative agencies, and where the principal relief sought is injunctive or declaratory to establish the validity of a statute, ordinance or regulation, or enforcement or declaration of any claim of constitutional right.

Contact information:

Newton County Court
301 W Cornelius Harnett Blvd. Ste. 100
Lillington, NC 27546
Phone: (910) 814-4600
Fax: (910) 893-3683


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved